For the complete documentation index, see llms.txt. This page is also available as Markdown.
Cortex XSOAR 8.10 (On-pre8.10 (On-prem)Cortex XSOAR 8.x (On-prem

Auto expand PVC volumes

Automatically expand PVC volumes in Cortex XSOAR 8.10 On-prem.

Auto expansion enables automatically increasing Persistent Volume Claim (PVC) capacity when disk usage reaches a predefined threshold. This ensures application uptime by preventing disk full errors and eliminates the need for manual intervention during storage spikes.

You can dynamically enable or disable auto expansion at runtime without restarting or experiencing service interruption.

Your configuration choice is persistent, it survives TUI restarts, SSH session terminations, and full system reboots.

How auto expansion works

Auto expansion relies on an automated background process that regularly monitors disk usage and automatically increases Persistent Volume Claim (PVC) capacity based on predefined thresholds and limits.

  • Expansion trigger

    The system automatically triggers a volume expansion when any PVC usage reaches 85% capacity.

  • Expansion amount and limits

    The expansion size is calculated as 20% of the current volume size (rounded to the nearest GiB), capped at a maximum of 40 GiB per event with a minimum limit of 1 GiB.

  • Safety guardrails

    To protect overall system health, the system enforces not using the full remaining disk space; it will always leave a minimum of 10% free space.

  • Standalone and multinode deployments

    The auto expand feature operates seamlessly on both standalone and multinode clusters. In a multinode setup, the setting is applied from the primary node.

How to configure auto expand

  1. From the textual UI menu, select Auto Expand.

    The following message is displayed: Storage Groups will automatically expand once it reaches 85% capacity, provided there is enough available space on the system.

  2. Click to enable or disable auto expansion.

  3. In the confirmation dialog, select Apply to confirm the change, or click Back (or the ESC key) to cancel the operation and preserve your original state.

    A progress indicator displays while applying the change, followed by a success notification upon completion.

Last updated

Was this helpful?