For the complete documentation index, see llms.txt. This page is also available as Markdown.
Cortex XSOAR 8 (SaaS)

Manage content packs

Install, delete, update, and revert Cortex XSOAR 8 SaaS content packs.

You can install, delete, update, and revert content packs. Before you install a content pack you should review the content pack to see what it includes and what are the various dependencies. Following is the information you can view:

  • Details: General information about the content pack such as installation, content, version, author, and status.

  • Content: The content to be installed, such as scripts or integrations.

  • Dependencies: Details of any required content packs and optional content packs that may need to be installed with your content pack.

  • Version History: View the currently installed version, earlier versions, available updates, and revert if required.

Dependencies

In Cortex XSOAR content packs, some objects are dependent on other objects. For example, an alert may be dependent on a playbook, an alert type, and an alert field. A script may be dependent on another script, or an integration. When you place a content pack in your cart, mandatory dependencies including required content packs are added automatically to ensure that the content pack installs correctly.

Optional content packs are used by the content pack you want to install but are not necessary for installation. When you place a content pack in your cart, you can choose which optional content pack to install. When you install optional content packs, mandatory dependencies in the optional content pack are automatically included.

Note

Optional content packs that are already installed are treated like they are required content packs to preserve content integrity.

Install a content pack

You can only install one content pack at a time. Cortex XSOAR automatically adds any content that is required to install the content pack. You can also add any optional content packs that use the content pack you want to install.

If you receive an error message when you try to install a content pack, you need to fix the error before installing. If a warning message is issued, you can still download the content pack, but you should fix the problem; otherwise, the content may not work correctly.

Note

You can use the Deployment Wizard to significantly reduce the time to set up your use case, for example for Malware Investigation and Response or Phishing.

  1. Go to MarketplaceBrowse and locate the content pack you want to install.

  2. Click the required content pack and review the contents.

  3. Click Install to add the content pack to the Cart.

  4. (Optional) If the content pack includes optional content, select the content packs you want to add.

    The Cart displays the number of items you are installing including any required content packs. You can log in and out, but the content packs remain in the Cart until you click either Empty cart or Install.

  5. Click Install.

  6. After installation, click Refresh content.

Delete a content pack

When you delete a content pack, all content is deleted, including all detached and customized content.

After you delete a content pack, it is recorded in the audit log. The version appears in the installation/update entry.

  1. Go to Marketplace → Installed Content Packs.

  2. In the Content Packs Library section, search for the content pack and select the content pack you want to delete.

  3. Click the trash can icon.

  4. Review the warning message and click Delete.

Update a content pack

Content packs are updated for bug fixes, enhancements, and more. Marketplace is updated every 2 hours and when there is an update available for a content pack, you will see a notification in the Installed Content Packs tab in Marketplace.

In the Version History tab of a content pack, you can see the currently installed version, earlier versions, and available updates. You can revert to a previous version of a content pack if required.

If you have made any customizations, these are automatically included in any update. All dependent content packs update automatically with the content pack.

Third-party product Integrations are developed and tested against a specific product version. For products which are on-prem or cloud-based with specific API versions, the version developed and tested against will be included in the integration's documentation. Newer versions of the product are not always immediately tested, and it is expected that products maintain API compatibility upon release of newer product versions. When upgrading to a newer product version, it is highly recommended to test the integration in a dev environment before deploying to production.

  1. In the Show field of the Installed Content Packs tab, select Update available to display the content packs that are available to update.

  2. Click the content pack you want to update.

  3. In the Version History tab of the content pack, view the updates that are available.

  4. Click Update. If there is more than one update available, click the version to update.

    If you choose to install the latest version, it includes the previous version. If you have made any customizations, these are included in any update. If any dependencies require updating, these are automatically added.

  5. Click Install.

  6. After the content pack installs, click Refresh content.

Revert a content pack

You can revert to an earlier version of an installed content pack. Items that are not included in the version are also deleted, such as detached playbooks, or scripts that use other scripts from the content pack. This may cause other content packs to stop working

  1. In the Installed Content Packs tab, click the content pack you want to revert.

  2. In the Version History tab, select the version to which you want to revert.

  3. Click Revert to this version. The version will be added to your Cart.

  4. In the Cart, click Downgrade.

Last updated

Was this helpful?