> For the complete documentation index, see [llms.txt](https://cortex-docs.paloaltonetworks.com/llms.txt). Markdown versions of documentation pages are available by appending `.md` to page URLs; this page is available as [Markdown](https://cortex-docs.paloaltonetworks.com/xsoar-6-administrator-guide/6.12/onboard-cortex-xsoar/onboarding-in-cortex-xsoar/users-and-roles/user-management/configure-users-data-using-server-configurations.md).

# Configure Users Data Using Server Configurations

After you [Remove a User](/xsoar-6-administrator-guide/6.12/onboard-cortex-xsoar/onboarding-in-cortex-xsoar/users-and-roles/user-management/remove-a-user.md) from Cortex XSOAR, you need to delete the user's data. You can remove the data manually by using the CLI, or automate the process through a playbook, or through server configurations. Using server configurations can be used in multi-tenant environments (as the other methods are not available).

{% hint style="info" %}

### Note

* When clearing users data, only active incidents and incidents are cleared. Incidents that have been closed are not changed.
* Any invitation created by a deleted user is removed. If the deleted user is the invitee, the invite remains in the Invites table.
  {% endhint %}

You can configure when you want to remove user's data, define the replacement user, whether to delete the list of deleted users, etc.

1. Create a list of users you want to remove.
   1. Select **Settings** → **ADVANCED** → **Lists** → **Add a List**.
   2. Add a name for the list.
   3. In the **Content Type** field, select **Text**.
   4. Add the names of the users.

      If adding multiple names use separate lines for each name.
   5. Add the permission level.

      For example, for Read Only, you may want only read-only users to be able to see the list but for Read and edit, you may want both analyst and administrator to be able to edit.
   6. Save the list.
2. Add the following server configurations by selecting **Settings** → **ABOUT** → **Troubleshooting** → **Add Server Configuration**.

   | Key                                   | Description                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                      |
   | ------------------------------------- | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ |
   | **`clear.users.data.job.enabled`**    | Set to **`true`** to clear the user's data. Default is **`false`**.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                              |
   | **`clear.users.data.job.time`**       | Sets the time to run in Cron format to clear the users data. Default is every Sunday at 12AM. For example to run every minute, enter **`*/1 * * * *`**.                                                                                                                                                                                          |
   | **`clear.users.data.job.userslist`**  | The name of the list you created in step 1.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                      |
   | **`clear.users.data.job.clear.list`** | Set to **`true`** to delete the list after the data is cleared. Default is **`false`**.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                          |
   | **`clear.users.data.job.username`**   | The name of the replacement user. Default is **`admin`**.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                        |
   | **`server.mask.git.commits`**         | <p>Set to <strong><code>true</code></strong> to remove the users data from the git commit version that the user created (version control). For an example of version control in a playbook, see <a href="/spaces/9gZ0C5CI8Bl5Aulkp4dZ/pages/OZwSXupIGPbWrXXqEBE9">Version Control</a>.</p><p>Default is <strong><code>false</code></strong>.</p> |
3. Restart the Cortex XSOAR server, by running the following command.

   **`systemctl restart demisto`**


---

# Agent Instructions
This documentation is published with GitBook. GitBook is the documentation platform designed so that both humans and AI agents can read, navigate, and reason over technical content effectively. Learn more at gitbook.com.

## Querying This Documentation
If you need additional information that is not directly available in this page, you can query the documentation dynamically by asking a question.

Perform an HTTP GET request on the current page URL with the `ask` query parameter, and the optional `goal` query parameter:

```
GET https://cortex-docs.paloaltonetworks.com/xsoar-6-administrator-guide/6.12/onboard-cortex-xsoar/onboarding-in-cortex-xsoar/users-and-roles/user-management/configure-users-data-using-server-configurations.md?ask=<question>&goal=<endgoal>
```

`ask` is the immediate question: it should be specific, self-contained, and written in natural language.
`goal` is optional and describes the broader end goal you are ultimately trying to accomplish on behalf of the user. GitBook uses it to tailor the answer towards what is most useful for that goal.

The response will contain a direct answer to the question and relevant excerpts and sources from the documentation.

Use this mechanism when the answer is not explicitly present in the current page, you need clarification or additional context, or you want to retrieve related documentation sections.
