> For the complete documentation index, see [llms.txt](https://cortex-docs.paloaltonetworks.com/llms.txt). Markdown versions of documentation pages are available by appending `.md` to page URLs; this page is available as [Markdown](https://cortex-docs.paloaltonetworks.com/xsoar-6-administrator-guide/6.13/learn-about-cortex-xsoar/onboarding-in-cortex-xsoar/users-and-roles/user-management/clear-users-data-using-the-cli.md).

# Clear Users Data Using the CLI

After you [Remove a User](/xsoar-6-administrator-guide/6.13/learn-about-cortex-xsoar/onboarding-in-cortex-xsoar/users-and-roles/user-management/remove-a-user.md) from Cortex XSOAR, although their personal details are deleted, you can also remove their data from the content that they have created. You can decide which user can replace the deleted user. You can run a command in the CLI or automate the process through a playbook or server configurations.

If running a command in the CLI or in a playbook, you must set the **`builtin.commands.hidden.clearUsersData`** server configuration to **`false`**, otherwise the command cannot run.

{% hint style="info" %}

### Note

* When clearing users data, only active incidents and incidents are cleared. Incidents that have been closed are not changed.
* Any invitation created by a deleted user is removed. If the deleted user is the invitee, the invite remains in the Invites table.
  {% endhint %}

Before you begin, ensure you [remove the user](/xsoar-6-administrator-guide/6.13/learn-about-cortex-xsoar/onboarding-in-cortex-xsoar/users-and-roles/user-management/remove-a-user.md), otherwise you will receive an error message when using the CLI command.

1. Create a list of users you want to remove.
   1. Select **Settings** → **ADVANCED** → **Lists** → **Add a List**.
   2. Add a name for the list.
   3. In the **Content Type** field, select **Text**.
   4. Add the names of the users.

      If adding multiple names use separate lines for each name.
   5. Add the permission level.

      For example, for Read Only, you may want only read-only users to be able to see the list but for Read and edit, you may want both analyst and administrator to be able to edit.
   6. Save the list.
2. Add the following server configurations by going to **Settings** → **ABOUT** → **Troubleshooting** → **Add Server Configuration**.

   | Key                                          | Description                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                      |
   | -------------------------------------------- | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ |
   | **`builtin.commands.hidden.clearUsersData`** | Set to **`false`** to run the **`clearUserData`** command in the CLI and playbook. Default is **`true`**.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                        |
   | **`server.mask.git.commits`**                | <p>Set to <strong><code>true</code></strong> to remove the users data from the git commit version that the user created (version control). For an example of version control in a playbook, see <a href="/spaces/1BTuP6WlLsNzo2wlKa5w/pages/AnZvCFoZjmCeYIi09Rsj">Version Control</a>.</p><p>Default is <strong><code>false</code></strong>.</p> |
3. In the CLI, run the following command.

   **`!clearUsersData listName=`*****`<name_of_list>`*****` `` ``username= `*****`replacement_username`*****` `` ``listClear= `*****`<true/false>`***

   | Argument        | Description                                                                 |
   | --------------- | --------------------------------------------------------------------------- |
   | **`listName`**  | Name of the list you created in step 1.                                     |
   | **`username`**  | The name of the replacement user. Default is admin.                         |
   | **`listClear`** | Set to true to delete the list after the data is cleared. Default is false. |

   The deleted user's name is removed and replaced with the user name that you have defined in the command.

In this example, we want to remove two users: A and B, and replace them with user K. We have already set up the server configurations.

1. Remove users A and B.
2. Create a list called **`deletedusers`**, which contains users A and B.
3. Run the following command

   **`!clearUsersData username=K listName=deletedusers`**

   In the Playground, you should receive a notification that the command finished successfully. Users A and B have been removed from the content and replaced by user K.


---

# Agent Instructions
This documentation is published with GitBook. GitBook is the documentation platform designed so that both humans and AI agents can read, navigate, and reason over technical content effectively. Learn more at gitbook.com.

## Querying This Documentation
If you need additional information that is not directly available in this page, you can query the documentation dynamically by asking a question.

Perform an HTTP GET request on the current page URL with the `ask` query parameter, and the optional `goal` query parameter:

```
GET https://cortex-docs.paloaltonetworks.com/xsoar-6-administrator-guide/6.13/learn-about-cortex-xsoar/onboarding-in-cortex-xsoar/users-and-roles/user-management/clear-users-data-using-the-cli.md?ask=<question>&goal=<endgoal>
```

`ask` is the immediate question: it should be specific, self-contained, and written in natural language.
`goal` is optional and describes the broader end goal you are ultimately trying to accomplish on behalf of the user. GitBook uses it to tailor the answer towards what is most useful for that goal.

The response will contain a direct answer to the question and relevant excerpts and sources from the documentation.

Use this mechanism when the answer is not explicitly present in the current page, you need clarification or additional context, or you want to retrieve related documentation sections.
